About QQ

The Water Quality/Quantity Committee (QQ) comprises municipalities, counties, water and sanitation districts, and conservancy districts in the headwaters region of Colorado located in Grand, Summit, Eagle, Pitkin, Routt, and Gunnison counties. The Colorado River Water Conservation District, Middle Park Water Conservancy District, Ruedi Water & Power Authority, and Upper Gunnison River Water Conservancy District are also QQ members. The Board is made up of elected and appointed officials from member jurisdictions.

QQ’s purpose is to facilitate and augment the efforts of member jurisdictions to protect and enhance the region’s water quality while encouraging its responsible use for the good of Colorado citizens and the environment.

QQ’s contract team provides members with legislative monitoring, water quality information, litigation and rulemaking support, trans-mountain diversion oversight, and related technical assistance to further intergovernmental cooperation and increase political clout with state and federal agencies.

QQ Members

  • Eagle County
  • Pitkin County
  • Grand County
  • Summit County
  • Gunnison County
  • Routt County
  • Aspen
  • Avon
  • Basalt
  • Breckenridge
  • Carbondale
  • Crested Butte
  • Dillon
  • Eagle
  • Fraser
  • Frisco
  • Granby
  • Grand Lake
  • Gypsum
  • Hot Sulphur Springs
  • Kremmling
  • Minturn
  • Silverthorne
  • Steamboat Springs
  • Vail
  • Winter Park
  • Yampa
  • Basalt Sanitation District
  • Bellyache Ridge Metro District
  • Copper Mountain Metro Consolidated District
  • Dillon Valley Metro District
  • Eagle River Water and Sanitation District
  • East Dillon Water District
  • Fraser Sanitation District
  • Granby Sanitation District
  • Grand County Water and Sanitation District
  • Hamilton Creek Metro District
  • Mid-Valley Metro District
  • Silver Creek Water District
  • Silverthorne Dillon Joint Sewer Authority
  • Snowmass Water and Sanitation
  • White Horse Springs Water & Sanitation
  • Winter Park West Water & Sanitation
  • Colorado River Water Conservation District
  • Middle Park Water Conservancy District
  • Ruedi Water and Power Authority
  • Upper Gunnison River Water Conservancy District

QQ Member list last updated November 2023.

How QQ Supports its Members

QQ supports its members through:
• Educational meetings
• Legislative monitoring and lobbying
• Water quality information representation in state agency rulemaking proceedings
• Trans-mountain diversion oversight
• Model county and municipal land use regulations that integrate land use planning with water resource protection
• Litigation defense in cases of regional importance
• Related technical assistance to enhance intergovernmental cooperation and increase the region’s political clout with state and federal agencies

QQ has been instrumental in influencing statewide water policy decision making because the QQ elected officials speak with one voice.

The QQ Consultant Team contracts annually with QQ under a broad scope of work to implement QQ Policies. QQ’s work focuses on issues relevant to water quality and quantity that are of regional and statewide significance. QQ provides support for local efforts, research, and solutions when the issue may affect QQ membership more broadly (e.g. permitting a new or expanded transmountain diversion project in a single QQ County).